Cheeseburger Bliss

February 21, 2011 § 1 Comment

This weekend certainly was a relaxing one! It’s been a while since I’ve had two days off in a row with nothing to do and nowhere to go. Saturday was my dad’s birthday so a big Happy Birthday to him! I’m throwing this shout out to him because I actually forgot to call (well I didn’t forget to call per say, I actually forgot what day it was) and so I’m hoping to redeem myself by making his birthday visible in the blog-o-sphere. I’m terrible at keeping track of what day it is. I’m seriously thinking of investing in a watch that has the date on it.

That said and guilt aside I had a nice weekend. I dragged NPC out to the park to go on a jaunt with Lily. The weather was divine – cool and breezy, sunny and warm – and it was lovely to be outdoors. We got some lunch afterwards and went to Trader Joe’s. (I think I’ve mentioned this before but if not… Trader Joe’s is an awesome supermarket. If you love organic food and don’t want to spend a ton of cash on it this is the place to go! Check out their website and see if there is one near you.)

We also stopped into the pet store where I was almost suckered into believing that we need a cat. No, we didn’t get one this time but I imagine that before long NPC (who when I met him swore his allegiance only to dogs) will bamboozle me into getting one. In my defense I just don’t think Lily would like a four-legged feline living in her house.

After that we went off to his parent’s house for a cookout and some backyard football. I learned, most assuredly, that I am terrible at throwing the pigskin. I mean really, really, dreadfully bad. However I never claimed to be good at it and I’ll stick to that story and continue to “throw like a girl” I’m sure. (I should interject that NPC’s sister Jennifer has a killer spiral, much to my chagrin.)

Dinner of the evening were made-to-your-specification burgers. They were undoubtedly delicious – more so because I did not have to cook them.  One of the joys of spending time with Nat’s parents is that (aside from being fun, lively and funny as all get out) they can cook – man can they cook. Going there is a wonderful culinary escape. From Coq Au Vin to Beef Bourguignon they’ve got it covered.

So about those burgers… He used ground beef (85/15 no less) and mixed it with a concentrated demi glace (which I honestly didn’t know you could buy already prepared and not in powder form), Worcestershire sauce, salt and pepper and stuffed them with our choice of cheese (fontina, bleu, cheddar or pimento) served on a toasted onion roll. Grilled to perfection those suckers were juicy and delicious. Dressed just the way I like it (mayo, mustard, lettuce, tomato and dill pickle) it was beyond heavenly. They also made some grillin’ baked beans and a knock-off recipe of the KFC coleslaw (it was actually better than the KFC one) and for dessert we had key lime pie. (Which is quickly replacing my favorite dessert: Cheesecake.)

It makes me full just thinking about that dinner. And there’s something to be said about a good burger. You have to finish it. We all left the table stuffed and ready for a nap. It’s a wonderful feeling to be full and around family. I’m very glad to get along with this funny, culinary minded, silly and loving family.

On Sunday we cleaned up the apartment (after a bit of hesitation and some bickering of course) and then lounged around the rest of the day watching movies we had on the DVR and messing around on the computer.

All in all it was a wonderful, gorgeous weekend and I wish for all of you that every weekend can be that fulfilling and relaxing all at the same time. I wish today was Friday so we could do it all over again. I also wish I had pictures but I’m happy to say that I was too busy enjoying the weekend with my own two eyes.

That’s all for now – work is calling. Have a great Monday!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Cheeseburger Bliss

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cheeseburger Bliss at Stepping Out.

meta

