Day 11 → Something people seem to compliment you the most on.

February 11, 2011 § 1 Comment

I double doggy dare you.

This is an easy one, actually. People compliment me the most on my writing.  I was going to go with a physical feature but it sounds too much like bragging. When I talk about my writing it gives me a sense of pride – not egotism.

Words are pretty amazing. I remember when I really started taking writing seriously. It was my junior year in High School and I was in a Creative Writing class with Mrs. Hague. In the class we learned about composition and grammar, yes, but we would also spent a good chunk of time in the class writing – sometimes in groups and sometimes individually. We would get prompts to use a few times a week and others we would free write. I started my book in that class. It started as a short story and then my teacher wrote something on the back of the paper that I’ll never forget. She wrote: “This is SO not a short story. You can go so many places here. See me after class.”

I saw her after class and she told me, short and sweetly, “You need to be writing. You have a unique voice.”

So, yes, I’m writing a book. It’s a novel about a girl who was, in some ways, lost. And then she starts to find herself. It’s a work in progress and I’m not going to go into detail here but I think, in the end, it’ll be something worth reading. And it excites me. It’s one of my dreams to become a published writer.

People underestimate the power of their words. Words can build someone up and give someone a sense of meaning and value. They can also tear people down. Sometimes we, as humans, speak a little too freely with not much thought. In fact more often than not people talk without thinking. I know I do it too and it can be harmful.

Words are very powerful. Without them we would be unable to communicate as freely as we’re given the opportunity to do. It’s a wonderful thing to be able to harness language. With it we can paint beautiful pictures, create imaginable scenes and deliver meaning.

So today I want to challenge you: Think before you speak. Choose your words carefully in the right context and when you deliver your words to someone’s ears (or eyes) do so passionately but in a way that is controlled. You may find that your words have greater meaning and in turn you may be surprised at the response.

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to Day 11 → Something people seem to compliment you the most on.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 11 → Something people seem to compliment you the most on. at Stepping Out.

meta

