The Caged Bird Sings

February 4, 2011 § Leave a comment

There was a bird in my bedroom. That’s not a metaphor.

Tonight NPC and I were making dinner and Lily (the dog) was nowhere to be found. (Which is highly unusual for a dog when there is any kind of food around.) We didn’t think too much of it at the time but something was amiss.

So we were sitting on the couch talking about our day and what do we hear upstairs? Lily is jumping around on the bed. Alright… stranger things have happened. So we figured she was getting into trouble (tearing up tissues or something) and I sent NPC upstairs to check it out. The next thing I hear is: “Oh my gosh Katie, holy crap, there’s a bird in the bedroom.” I thought he was kidding… but I went upstairs and NPC was standing in the doorway staring at the curtain rod and I’ll be darned there was a little brown wren 5 feet above my bed.

So I’m sure you can imagine what happened next. We corralled my hyperventilating dog out of the bedroom and spend the next few minutes trying to figure out how to get it outside. We would have opened the window but our screen doesn’t open easily enough without moving the very heavy bed frame. So we decided to try to catch it.

Next ensued 10 minutes of back and forth chasing it around with a pillowcase. Eventually NPC sacked it (and it sang – but not a pretty song… a fearful song, sadly) and got it outside and let it free.

What an eventful evening!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Caged Bird Sings at Stepping Out.

meta

