Is That Edible?

January 28, 2011 § Leave a comment

As promised.

Eel Ice Cream - Not for the faint hearted. Or anyone with good taste.

Today was another long, tiring day at work. With NPC’s new work schedule and my overheating car out of commission for the time being I’m having to get up an extra hour early. I can’t complain too much though because I do get to sit in Panera Bread for an hour or so in the morning.. and really there isn’t a better way that I can think of to start the day than having a cup of coffee, reading the paper and eating some kind of delicious breakfast I didn’t have to make. Although I am sacrificing an hour’s worth of beauty to do so.

Also it turns out that my hands do not like dry weather or being washed 25 times an hour which I tend to do when I’m polishing jewelery. (Note to self: This is not a job for someone who doesn’t like to get dirty. Luckily I’m not too prissy.) So right now my hands are stinging, cracked a bit and begging for more lotion even though they were generously slathered with O’Keeffe’s Working Hands Cream less than an hour ago. (Note to everyone else: If you suffer from any kind of dry, cracked, wintery hands you need to try this stuff! We got it from Lowe’s.)

We took a quick trip up to Trader Joe’s also today for some groceries after running some errands. If you’re not familiar with Trader Joe’s the website is here. It is, by far, one of my favorite places to grocery shop. I was astonished the first time I went in there. The food is mostly organic and delicious and the cost is more than reasonable. We picked up some Pappardelle, lovely Ground Beef, sauces, Brie and Colby Jack Cheese, the most adorable miniature potatoes I’ve ever seen (about the size of a half dollar) and a bottle of Three Kights Merlot (which I’ve never had and I’m dying to open but waiting for dinner tomorrow night). We got a few other goodies and while I’m at it let me rave about the organic dog food they have – my Lily girl loves it!

Anyways I’ve sidetracked a bit. I was going to mention dinner last night – the quickest dinner EVER and so tasty! It literally only took me about 10 minutes to make it. I boiled up a package of Pappardelle pasta and heated up Trader Joe’s Spinach and Artichoke dip (instant, gratifying sauce!) and tossed it together with salt and pepper and some Parmigiana cheese. YUM! I’m giving Sandra Lee a run for her money. It probably cost me all of 7 dollars and was enough to feed 4 people easily. Almost makes me think that’s what I should be blogging about.  :))))

Crab Brains Bubbling On Open Fire.. 'nuff said.

But tonight’s blog, getting down to the matter, is about food that looks or sounds bad (if not completely inedible or just not like food at all). Browsing this website I’ve come across plenty of questionable photographs.. things I couldn’t decipher as food until I’ve read the recipe. I’ve also come across some very strange combinations that I’m honestly just afraid to try… and some strange presentations as well. Here are some of my… favorites?

Not to say that some of this couldn’t be delicious and if this is your culture’s delicacy or something… no offense intended. I just don’t see myself sitting down, fork and knife in hand, slurping any of this up. That’s all I’m saying.

If you enjoyed this entry please visit my friends at Who Sucks and read “1o1 Frightening Ice Cream Flavors from around the World“. It’s terrifying.

This’ll give you something to chew on before you go to bed.       Goodnight!

Tastes like... Chicken?

Not just a Brownie - Slathered in Nutella and.. Bacon?

Tamarind Stew Pork with Daikon. It's just too.. brown.

Cow Tongue Tacos - Probably not. No... definitely not.

Kitty Litter Cake - It just shouldn't be done. Ever.

Tripas and Cacti - Small Intestine of Cow with Cactus. There are no words..

Fondant on Cake - Ooooh! I want to eat pieces with the baby bump... ?

Spinach Cake - Don't let the name fool you. No cake here.

Soured Milk Cake - Sounds gross and why is it purple?

Turkey Muffins - For anyone who's ever craved a... Meat Cupcake?

Rhubarb Sorbet - Looks like the pink slime that comes out of the tub faucet in Ghostbusters.

Pear Gelee w/Baby Back Ribs - Nothing like Meat and Gelled Fruit? I think I'll pass.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Is That Edible? at Stepping Out.

meta

