Male Bonding

January 23, 2011 § 1 Comment

It’s more than hilarious  to sit on the outskirts of a boy’s night and watch it unfold in a completely sobered mind. Not that I didn’t want to partake in the festivities tonight but I was far too tired to be involved in the “beer tasting” and poker… and it’s good for NPC to get a boy’s night in when he can, especially with him starting his new work schedule on Monday.

Regardless I bought some snacks (Pringles, Cheese Puffs, Peanuts) and made some homemade taco filling for the boys to nosh on while they were having their “Beer Tasting” and discussing the finer points of a good brewski. Whilst in the dining room I learned of malts, hops, colors of beer and various other facts that went in one ear and pretty much right out the other. I either like a beer or I don’t. Case closed. But I can understand them because I’m very much like that with wine. Anyways.. it was fun to watch them smack their lips and swish the beer around in their mouths and think about what they were tasting. Like a wine tasting, only less formal. Eh, not formal at all really.

I consider it to be a privilege of sorts to be made privy to the conversation boys have during these bonding rituals so I won’t disclose of anything in particular except that the conversation was remarkably deeper the drunker they got. Until they got to a certain point in which the deepness about-faced and turned into a much sillier revelry.

One of the biggest topics of the night seemed to be music. Reggae, Techno, old school Red Hot Chili Peppers… were all present and accounted for. It’s also funny to look into the other room and watch them all bobbing their heads and tapping their feet in rhythm with the music. It only makes me love them more.

So this is male bonding?

It got me to thinking about girls in this situation.. and it’s funny because I just can’t picture girls sitting around drinking beers and playing poker. Why is that?  This girl right here doesn’t have a problem doing just that… but I don’t know too many girls who would want to join me. So what do we bond over? Manicures and shopping? Why do we get so high maintenance?  No, I’m not bashing the ways of the lioness.. but sometimes I think we just need to lighten up and learn a lesson from the guys. There’s no shame in kicking back and just goofing off.

I love these boys!

 

§ One Response to Male Bonding

  • mindslam says:

    It’s been a while but me & about 6 other guys used to get together once a month & drink & play poker. We would go to a different guys house each time. It was really alot of fun. Every now & then the girls would step in & play. They seemed to have enjoyed it when they did. Great post. Like the new look too!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Male Bonding at Stepping Out.

meta

