Bedtime Calculations

January 21, 2011 § Leave a comment

My apologies for not posting yesterday. I worked until about 8:45 and didn’t get in and settled until it was so late my eyes were just about not working. We have been so behind at work and it seems like just as soon as we get caught up something happens and we’re back in the weeds. But I remind myself every morning that I’m grateful for my job (and I really am) and that no matter how crazy it gets I should be nothing but happy to be there.

On top of work we’ve got NPC’s birthday party tomorrow night. My lovebug will be 26. (Yes, I am older than him by about 6 months and no, I don’t consider myself a “cougar”.) So that means we’ve got cleaning and preparing to do when I get home tonight.

So I was thinking last night when I was sitting on the couch that there is something I do every single night at least 2-3 times before I go to bed and I was wondering how many other people do it too? Do you count on your fingers how many hours of sleep you’ll get if you go to bed right that second?  I do. Multiple times.

I’ll be sitting at the computer thinking, ‘Alright, if I go to bed right now I’ll get about 7 hours of sleep… so I guess I can stay up one more hour.’ I even do it when I’m laying in bed. ‘If I close my eyes and go to sleep right now I’ll get 5 hours of sleep.’ (However it seems like I’m probably awake for another 30 minutes or so when I start thinking about that.) And inevitably the finger counting is involved.

The point of all of this is that I had a giggle last night when I Stumbled onto a website designed to calculate how many hours of sleep you need – and when you should wake up, ideally, if you go to bed at a certain time. I also learned that it takes a human being an average of 14 minutes to fall asleep. Whereas my dog Lily falls asleep almost instantly.

http://sleepyti.me/ is the web site. It’s a fun little thing.

I’m off to work… I hope you slept well! Have a great day!                     xo

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bedtime Calculations at Stepping Out.

meta

