Day 07 → Make a playlist to someone, and explain why you chose all the songs.

January 15, 2011 § Leave a comment

Out of order. It’s how life goes usually. I’m writing things out of order because I liked this prompt and wanted to do it today. Funny because I’ll be standing in front of the bathroom mirror sometimes just singing and thinking about who I would dedicate the song to… so I’ve had some time to think about this.

It’s usual business to dedicate a playlist to your significant other and today I’m not going to stray from that. It’s been a particularly busy week at work and I’ve come home to wonderfully cooked meals, a vacuumed house, dishes in the dishwasher and a warm hug. Nat, you deserve this post. I love you so much! Thank you for being wonderful.

  • Dave Matthews – #41. This song embodies a lot of the questions, feelings and thoughts I had before I met you. Obviously the time I’d been through before you came into my life was a difficult one. I was mourning the loss of a relationship, trying to find my way out of the rut I was in. Particularly lines like “But the difficulty is coming here, I will go in this way and find my own way out, I won’t tell you to stay but I’m coming to much more.. Me.” I was finding myself in a lot of ways. You walked in my door with your “fancy pants” shoes on and I started to fall for you.. more quickly than expected.
  • TJ McCloud – Falling Faster. “How do I know this is love? How do I know when my heart beats fast enough? How can I ever be sure when my heart’s been hurt before? How do I know when it’s real? How do you describe what it is unfeeling, What if it’s not what I feel? But I think that this one’s different ‘Cause I can hardly speak when you’re around, Come to think, I can’t even feel the ground
    ‘Cause I’m falling faster than I’ve ever fallen before, Feeling so alive And when I reach the bottom, I just want to fall again for you.
  • Jack Johnson – Inaudible Melodies. Mostly for the chorus: “Slow down everyone, You’re moving too fast, frames can’t catch you when you’re moving like that.” So we slowed down, we got to know more about the good and the bad stuff. We argued, had some humdingers and forks in the road. Then we were at a place we didn’t recognize. We weren’t in sync with each other. Mostly because we were still working out our own problems – things we’d never dealt with all the way.
  • Duncan Sheik – Barely Breathing. Because for a while, things weren’t so good and we weren’t sure if we were going to make it over that bump in the road. But then something great happened and we started digging our way out of the mess we made and..
  • Shania Twain – “Looks like we made it, look how far we’ve come my baby. We might have took the long way, we knew we’d get there someday. They said, I’ll be they’ll never make it. But just look at us holding on… we’re still together, still going strong.” (It kills me to use that song because it’s far from the type of music I would normally choose but there it is, it’s the perfect exclamation of our progress as a couple.
  • Jason Mraz – Lucky. “I’m lucky I’m in love with my best friend, lucky to have been where I have been, lucky to be coming home again. Lucky we’re in love in every where, lucky to have stayed where we have stayed…”

There are more but these ones stick out in my mind. I’m glad we’ve made it this far. The last song is my favorite and puts a smile on my face and makes me think of none other than you. ❤

Jack Johnson – Better Together

There is no combination of words I could put on the postcard
And no song that I could sing, but I can try because this is your heart and this is
Our dreams and they are made out of real things
Like a shoebox of photographs with sepia-toned loving
Love is the answer at least for most of the questions in my heart, like
Why are we here? And where do we go? And how come it’s so hard?
It’s not always easy and sometimes life can be deceiving
I’ll tell you one thing, it’s so much better when we’re together

Mmm, so much better when we’re together
Yeh, we’ll look at the stars when we’re together
Well it’s so much better when we’re together
Yeh, it’s so much better when we’re together

All of these moments just might find their way into my dreams tonight
But I know that they’ll be gone when the morning light sings
Or brings new things for tomorrow night you see
They’ll be gone too, to many things I have to do
But follow these dreams might find their way into my day to day scene
I’d be under the impression, I was somewhere in between
With only two, just me and you, not so many things we got to do
Or places we got to be, we’ll sit beneath the mango tree now

Yeh, so much better when we’re together
Mmm, we’re somewhere in between together
Well, it’s so much better when we’re together
Yeh, so much better when we’re together

I believe in memories because they look so,
So pretty when I sleep
And when I wake up you look so pretty sleeping next to me
But there is not enough time
And there is no, no song I could sing
And there is no combination of words I could say
But I will still tell you one thing
We’re better together
We so much better when we’re together
We so much better when we’re together

 

I love you so much.

 

xo

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 07 → Make a playlist to someone, and explain why you chose all the songs. at Stepping Out.

meta

