Day 06 → Something you hope you never have to do.

January 15, 2011 § 2 Comments

When I was very young my dad passed away. I think one of the small mercies in the situation was that I was so young and the wound from such a tragedy as that has had time to heal. However I still feel that one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do was say goodbye to him. I would never wish that kind of loss on anyone.

When I think of the hardest things I’ve had to go through they all had one thing in common: Loss.

Loss of a father, loss of a pet, loss of a loved one, loss of a relationship, loss of a friend. And I think, in some ways, the loss is amplified by the fear of being alone.

Don’t get me wrong. I like “me time” and “alone time” and “quiet time” more than the next… but the idea of being alone for an extended period of time is something I hope I never have to experience. I’m too much a lover of company and conversation. Even just being in the same room with someone and not speaking to one another provides a sort of comfort that, when it is gone, makes silence unbearable.

So, at least right now, that’s at the top of my list.       …Eating various gross things like tripe runs a close 2nd.

§ 2 Responses to Day 06 → Something you hope you never have to do.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Day 06 → Something you hope you never have to do. at Stepping Out.

meta

